The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for all the university's activities, but specifically its educational character and mission, its senior management structure and its financial solvency. The details of its work are set out in the Statement of Primary Responsibilities.

The Board is made up of 22 members, 16 of whom are lay members, and 6 drawn from the University. Members of the Board come from all walks of life, bringing considerable experience to the university.

Current members of the Board are:


Robert TaylorIndependent Member
Alun JonesIndependent Member
Patrick BradleyIndependent Member
Marie Conte-Helm OBEIndependent Member
Mark EastwoodIndependent Member
John OliverIndependent Member
Andrew RamsayIndependent Member
Harry RichIndependent Member
Colin Tweedy OBEIndependent Member
Pauline Waterhouse OBEIndependent Member
Freda SackCo-opted Member
Professor Lesley MillarCo-opted Member
Conor KellyCo-opted Staff Member
Allan AtleeAcademic Board Nominee
Professor Simon Ofield-KerrVice-Chancellor

The work of the Board is supported by four Committees:

ask UCA a question
We use cookies on our site for best user experience. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise we'll assume you're OK to continue